As you have probably noticed, social media sites are constantly updating with new features and layouts. This can be great, but it can also lead to users missing out on certain features, due to not even knowing they were added. Great Plains Communications wants to highlight a couple Facebook tips to look out for next time you are browsing through your newsfeed.

 

Following a Post

Have you ever come across a post in your newsfeed or swap group, that you want to keep track of? There is no need to comment, “following” or really comment anything at all. All you need to do is go to the small arrow in the top right corner of the post and choose the option “Turn on notifications for this post”. From there, you will get a notification each time somebody comments on the post, or if the original creator changes something. To later turn off notifications for the post, you will follow the same steps, however it will read “Turn off notifications for this post.”

 

Checking Your Apps

We have all taken the quiz to find out what flavor ice cream we are or clicked the article heading that Facebook clearly targeted to our interests. If not that, you have probably logged-in to something and when asked if you wanted to log-in using your Facebook, you were grateful for the convenience. While these types of things are just that, convenient, they can also be risky. By not reading the pop-ups as you click through these posts, you can miss things like allowing them to “access your contacts and information.” This can lead to giving a company or even scammers access to your Facebook page or personal information. To check who you have given access to, you can check your App Settings. To do this, follow the directions below:

 

Go to Settings from the drop-down arrow in the top right.

 

Go to Apps in the column on the left.

 

You will find all the Apps you have given access to. Delete any that are unnecessary or are not familiar.